Hiraeth are the Modern Prog Metallers You Need in “Lucid” Music Video [South Africa]


Based out of Gauteng in South Africa, Hiraeth is a progressive metal group holding a lineup of Gareth Reed (vocals), Mart-Marie du Plessis (vocals), Warren Richards (guitar), Luke Cayzer (guitar), Tome Verschuur (bass), and Johann Harmse (drums). They just put out a music video for a new single.

“Lucid” excels as it beautifully displays the duality of the band’s two vocalists, particularly the contrast between the harsh growls and screams with the soft clean deliveries. Instrumentally, riffs and drum hits punch in a modern, groovy way that helps accentuate the vocal melodies conveyed. Check out the music video for “Lucid” below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s